Innocent Child

I used to be an innocent child,
timid, shy, fearful of the wild,

Always lost in my own world, a dreamer,
Afraid of the night, darkness, a screamer,

Always playing with toys, making my story,
Toy soldiers in war, fighting for honor and glory,

Then my world began to turn,
Amazed by science, I began to learn,

Meeting people from around the world opened my mind,
I started my pursuit of happiness, never looking behind,

Aspiring for greatness, I departed,
To complete the drawing I started,

Not to just survive the life but actually live it,
Not to just take from the world but give it,

To appreciate the architect, the Great Creator,
To put my thoughts on paper, to be a sub-creator,

Then my mind began the singing, in prose and poems,
Stories and characters developed and I gave them names,

Not knowing if anyone would bother to read them,
My fantasies and my stories, I began to need them,

They became a source of refuge, my peace,
My escape, my happy place, my release,

Will my story have a happy ending?
I took the test but the result is pending,

I used to be an innocent child,
Faced my fears and embraced the wild.

 

About dgenxali

I am just a simple guy who loves to write..write about life, love, friends, hobbies, interests, experiences and poems..

Posted on May 30, 2014, in Life and Experiences, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

